Make a difference

DSC01099
by Laura Benold

I think runners, especially marathoners, commonly have a one-track focus when it comes to exercise. Most of us need constant reminders, even days written into our training calendar, to do cross training of any kind. So, when an opportunity to join a group of friends in the Mamma Jamma Ride came up, I jumped on it and invited my Rogue buddy Gerardo “G” Castillo to join me. Okay, I didn’t so much jump as sort of crawl slowly towards the commitment. It’s difficult to add more workouts into an already rigorous schedule, and I’m fairly certain I ride very poorly, especially since I don’t own a bike and haven’t been on one in years. Seriously, I had lots of excuses and reasons not to do this thing.

Then, I thought about my boss and others like her. Melissa Rabeaux, the marketing communications director at the Austin Technology Incubator, was diagnosed with breast cancer only a couple of months ago and has recently undergone treatment, namely a double mastectomy. I watched as her entire world changed, and I still do as she approaches her first chemotherapy treatment. Cancer touches countless lives beyond those it infects; and 1.3 million women are diagnosed with breast cancer alone each year.

Like recycling or picking up trash on the side of the road, smiling at a stranger or putting things back where you found them, it’s difficult to know the effect you can have until you multiply your actions times everyone who thinks the way you do. We can’t wait for others to do what we know needs to be done; and if everyone feels that way, we can see amazing changes in the world.

The Mamma Jamma Ride isn’t going to cure cancer on its own, but it’s one step towards improving lives. You never know if the cause you’re fighting for will be the one that saves your life or the life of someone you love.

If you’re interested in donating to the ride, any amount will help us reach our goal of $5,000. You can donate here on my personal page.

My team, the Tech Riders, can’t wait to hit the road. I, on the other hand, am kind of terrified to ride with other people, because I might knock them or myself over; but I am excited to see what I can do and to support a cause I believe in. I hope you can help us out! Go Rogue! Go Mamma Jamma!

“Breast cancer affects all of us – it is going to take all of us, pulling together, to make sure Texans with breast cancer get the care and services they need” – Mamma Jamma

One thought on “Make a difference

Leave a Reply

