Thankful

A thank you from Sydney Pitt to the Rogues who helped make her disaster relief trip to Haiti possible:

On the twelfth day of January, 2010, the world experienced the largest natural disaster to ever occur in the history of the western hemisphere. A magnitude 7.0 earthquake struck the country of Haiti. Within the next 12 days, the country would experience over 50 powerful aftershocks that left over 230,000 souls dead, and over 300,000 injured, not to mention the over 1 million people who are now left homeless.

Haiti is the poorest country in the Western Hemisphere, and has been since before declaring its independence in the early 19th century. Haitians do not have the luxury of living in a Democratic society; instead they are bound by a corrupt government that has never served its citizens adequately.

When I heard and read about the physical and statistical magnitude of the disaster, I became further intrigued. I knew donating ten or fifty or a hundred dollars was not going to give me an experience like actually going there to help people would. After some research, I applied to Hands On Disaster Response (HODR) to be a volunteer in Leogane, Haiti, where the epicenter of the earthquake occurred. HODR received over 3,000 applications, and I was so very grateful to be chosen.

Thanks to the Rogue community, you made it possible for me to spend my Spring Break experiencing something I have never felt or been a part of before. I will be returning later this year to see the progress of our project in building a new hospital, clearing collapsed homes, building transitional shelters, and other countless efforts. My trip has taught me so many things, and we have so much to be thankful for than we will ever truly know.



Leave a Reply

