Hello… Adios…

Shoe review for the Adidas Adios, by Chris McClung

First a disclaimer: I work at a running shoe store and I know shoes, I but am far from a shoe geek or guru. We have John, Joe, and Erik for that. I write this review because I wear this shoe and just happen to love it.

Quick background: I discovered this shoe in January when Coach Scotty and John insisted that I give it a try. When I first tried it on, I was a little skeptical because it felt like it might be too firm, but I made the purchase after more pressure from the coaches. Now, I know not to doubt them – this shoe while running is like drinking iced tea on a hot summer day… feels so good. Now, I wear it for almost all speed workouts and in races up to the half marathon. [Note: the Brooks Launch is my primary long run shoe.]

The verdict: This shoe is perfect for those who are looking for a lightweight shoe for speed workouts and/or races up to the marathon. It is light but not minimal and oh so smooth and fast!

What I like:

–        So, that’s what responsive means! When I used to hear the word “responsive” when referring to running shoes, I would stare back and nod with that I-am-pretending-to-know-what-you-are-talking-about face. The truth was I had no idea what that meant and was more confused by the word than anything. In my world, the only responsive shoes I knew were the funky ones sitting in my garage whose stench would stand up and smack me in the face every time I walked out there. Anyway… I digress. After my first run in the Adios, I finally got it. The firmness I felt during the initial try-on came back during my run as a springy (but not bouncy) shoe that propelled me from footstrike to footstrike. For the first time in my life, I felt a shoe actually working with me to move down the road. It was “responding” back with each step as if to say: “hey, I am here to help… let’s roll.” Yes, I said back, let’s roll!

–        Smooth as silk. Running in this shoe is like driving on a freshly paved highway. It has a very smooth transition from heel to toe, just like the Brooks Launch. [If you run in the Launch, then you know what I am talking about.] The shoe feels exactly the same on the bottom of your foot from foot plant to toe off with no funny aberrations. And, the transition from heel to toe feels as natural as running barefoot on the beach. The smooth ride combined with the responsive nature of this shoe makes it feel very, very fast – perfect for speed work!

–        Light but not too minimal. This shoe weighs in at 7.4 ounces for men and 6.3 ounces for women, so it is super-light for speedwork. Even at a lower weight, however, the shoe feels more substantial and cushioned under your foot than you might expect. Plus, with a near-standard heel/toe differential, it is easier on the legs than many minimalist or lower-heel trainers/racers but with the same very-fast feel. If you are already in a lighter weight training shoe (like the Launch, Kinvara, Mirage, NB890 for example), then you can easily move to this shoe for speed work with very little transition.

What could be better:

–        The upper could better. The upper is light with very few overlays, but it is made of this cloth-like material that could be better. As a result, it does absorb moisture and pick up dirt more than I would like. This is a small nit, because it does not affect the performance of the shoe. But, hey, no shoe is perfect, right? 

–        A wee bit narrow for some. Also, if you have a wide foot, then this shoe will probably be too snug for you. I have a normal to slightly narrow foot, and the fit is perfect. For those blessed with a little wider foot, then perhaps the Asics Tarther or NB1400 would be a better choice for you.

Stats:

Weight: 7.4 ounces (men), 6.3 ounces (women)

Heel/toe differential: 11mm

Price: $110 ($93.50 with Rogue discount)

5 thoughts on “Hello… Adios…

  1. Pingback: Love has a new name: Adios Boost! | The Rundown

  2. Hi there! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a
    collection of volunteers and starting a new project in a community
    in the same niche. Your blog provided us useful information to work on.
    You have done a wonderful job!

  3. Pingback: Skechers. Seriously. | The Rundown

Leave a Reply

