Meet the Rogue Writers!

Throughout the next few months, you’ll be seeing regular Monday posts from our new guest bloggers, detailing the places – literally and metaphorically – that their running and training experiences are taking them. Stories, thoughts, frustrations, opinions, pictures – you’ll find it all here, all from fellow Rogues. I wanted to give you all a chance to get acquainted with our new writers – see below for introductions, and make sure to catch up with them each Monday!

Cameron Gage


Where are you from? I am born and raised in Austin (3rd generation)
How long have you been with Rogue? I think this is my fourth marathon program with Rogue….although I have known Steve and Ruth back from the Runtex days
What’s your favorite running memory/experience thus far? My favorite running experience is running on the Trail.  My Dad was the Chairman of the committee which created the Trail back in the early 70’s and I love seeing him on it (he has been everyday for the last 35+ years).
What is your next big running goal? Next big goal is Austin in Feb and Vancouver in May (marathon numbers 7 and 8)

 

 

Tori Howard


Where are you from? I grew up on a farm in the small town of McDade, Texas.  McDade is located about 1 hour East of Austin.
How long have you been with Rogue? I’ve been proudly running the Rogue way since 2007.
What’s your favorite running memory/experience thus far? Every time I finish a marathon, the memory of how I got there is forever burned in my mind.  I’m most fond of the friendships that have developed during my marathon training.  The experience of making friends with fellow Rogues never fades away.
What is your next big running goal? In March, I would like to finish the New Orleans Rock-n-Roll marathon with a time of 3:37.

 

 

Melody Garrett


Where are you from? Born and raised in (and around) Austin, TX
How long have you been with Rogue?  I have been running with Rogue since I began my first full marathon training in May 2011
What’s your favorite running memory/experience thus far? My favorite running experience thus far has been finishing the San Antonio Rock ‘n’ Roll full marathon. Despite the horribly hot and humid temperatures, it was one of the most gratifying experiences of my life.  The training and support I received from Rogue during the six month training program and from my Rogue friends proved to be priceless that day.  I couldn’t have done it without them.
What is your next big running goal? I am now going to take my training and have a little fun at the Rogue El Sendero Endurance Trail 25K on December 10, 2011 before moving on to the Austin Marathon in February, 2012.

 

Jimmy Ho


Where are you from? I was born in Parma, OH (outside of Cleveland) until my parents moved us to Katy, TX when I was 14. I moved to Austin when I attended school at Texas
How long have you been with Rogue?  I have been with Rogue since July when I started winter marathon
training. It’s been a fun and hard ride so far.
What’s your favorite running memory/experience thus far?My favorite running moment so far was when I completed the 3M Half in less than 2 hours. I had no idea what I was doing.  A friend and I were training for it by ourselves. It was kind of like blind leading blind. That was my first distance race. When I finished it, I was
thinking what I am doing? I never would have imagined running that distance 2 year before that.
What is your next big running goal?  I’m training for my first marathon which would be the Houston marathon. My goal is to finish it under 4 hours. I’m competitive in nature so I’m trying to best my other friends who have run marathons.

 

Sarah Bremer


Where are you from? I’m from Austin.  I’ve lived here since I was three, with a brief hiatus on the east cost for college and professional school.
How long have you been with Rogue?  I’ve been running with Rogue for two years – more or less.
What’s your favorite running memory/experience thus far? When we got this email last week I was hoping to say that finishing the San Antonio marathon was my best running memory so far because I ran well and was happy with my time.  This week I’ll say that finishing the San Antonio marathon is my best running experience so far because it was the most humbling, challenging run I’ve had to date . . . but I crossed the finish line and two days later can say that I still love to run and I’m ready to give the marathon another go.
What is your next big running goal? Next up for me is the Austin marathon in February where I hope to make it to the finish line a little more gracefully than I did in San Antonio – and under 3:50.

3 thoughts on “Meet the Rogue Writers!

  1. Tori that is so exciting. You look fabulous!! I wish I could run like that. I will keep looking out for your posts. I find it fascinating!! GOOD LUCK!! COUNTRY GIRLS CAN RUN LIKE THE WIND!!:)

Leave a Reply

