A Poetic Reflection on San Antonio Marathon 2011

L to R: Norm, James, Jimmie

By Jimmie Vaughan

Hello All,

Think of Tom Petty’s Running down a dream while reading this.  I figured I’d throw a little humor out there ’cause I didn’t find any race day.

It was a beautiful day, the sun beat down
We had some rock bands on, I was Rogue-n’
Norm flew by, me and Roger were singing, little Runaway
I was smilin’

Yeah running down a dream
That would never come to me
Workin’ on an injury, who ordered the humidity
Runnin’ down a dream

I felt so good, like anything was possible
I hit pace control and to Roger said goodbye
The second half of this race, the heat was un-stoppable
It was extremely hot, plenty of sunshine

Yeah running down a dream
That would never come to me
Workin’ on an injury, grabbed one of Nicole’s orange peels
Runnin’ down a dream

I ran on, as the sky grew bight
Dehydration set in, and I lost some time
There’s a BQ finish, waiting down this road
I’m signing up, For Austin’s 26.2 miles

Yeah running down a dream
That never would come to me
Workin’ on an injury, James and Jordan encouragin’ me
Runnin’ down a dream

*Editor’s note:  “Workin’ on an injury” only used for dramatic effect.

In all seriousness, I’d be lying if I said running this race was enjoyable.  I actually was right on pace through the first half-marathon and just tanked after the sun was out.  Worst part, my timing chip malfunctioned.  Luckily I have a picture of crossing the finish line, my buddy Garmin, and a couple of Rogue’s that witnessed it (James/ Jordan).  I believe where I failed was not adjusting my fluid intake according to the warmer temps.  I had all of the knowledge, just didn’t properly utilize it.  Considering it was my first, I cannot be happier for finishing and at a respectable time (only the competitor in me is disappointed for not hitting my goal).

A couple of things I was happy for began with the Rogue support!  I got to see Scott, Chuck, Norm, & James pre race, and ran a couple of miles with Roger (corral crasher! LOL!).  On the course I was surprised how many Rogue signs I saw along the way, and Aussie Scott meeting me at mile 10ish for some much needed NUUN was awesome.  You can’t ask for better support than that.  I also was surprised to see Nicole at some point (sorry I cannot recall the mileage – think the brain was on slow simmer at that point) cheering us on with some orange slices.  I want to especially thank James and Jordan for motivating me through the last mile or so.  When I hit the last water stop all I wanted to do was walk it in, however, with their encouragement I finished as strong as I could.

I 100% believe in the Rogue program (I re-enlisted for Austin training), just need to pay more attention to the conditions.  Now I have the experience of what not to do if the weather is hot on race day.  Hope to see you guys starting the 26th, along with much cooler temps!

Leave a Reply

