Rock AND Roll

by John Schrup

Here at Rogue Running, we do things a bit different. That is absolutely a fact, it’s been proven. And it has absolutely nothing to do with the topic sentence, whenever we might get to that. I just thought you wanted to know. You may also want to know, but probably not, that in Team Rogue, we use some terms taken from the music industry when we talk about running.

So, we’re submitting this to the OED:

Head banging: (gerund? Shit, I don’t know, somebody help me out!) 1. Running very quickly, for an extended period of time, with one or more of your closest friends and/or teammates. 2. Running faster than one’s coach has suggested and/or what was written on the schedule. 3. The hauling of the ass, perhaps in the latter part of a run, and specifically when the soundtrack of Dazed and Confuzed is playing, even the slower songs, like that one by Seals and Crofts. But you have to be running in slow motion.

Ok, there is no topic sentence.

The other day I was talking with a guy on Team Rogue. Since I haven’t asked his permission to use his name here, I’ll call him, uh, Shay. So, me and Shay were talking, maybe about surfing, I don’t know, and he asked how we got all these people to run absolutely to their limits on a given day, to empty the tank, totally eyeballs out! He had done it in Dallas, in the cold and rain, and so he knew. Jillian did it more than once and in some crazy heat—both times! Mark had a brilliant run in Houston (I didn’t see it, but Chris was there and he told me about it), and just recently I saw Michael do something big in Vancouver. I saw Jessica do it at 3M, moved almost to tears. Wendy owned the ridiculously tough Austin course, and there definitely were tears. And, it seems, that was our regularly State-of-the Rogue Address after each big race.

Hm. I thought. That does happen a lot. Way more than one might expect. It’s kinda funny, kinda cool. And I don’t know why it happens with our group so much. I really don’t know.

Our training is a bit different than other groups. We do things in ways that many people think of as, well, not the right way. But it just works. It just works. And I think it isn’t so much the training schedule that does it, though I think that it does play a big role, albeit indirectly. The training schedule—the method—is set up in such a way that if you do it, if you buy into it, your chances of rock stardom are brilliant! It is designed to train the body and mind simply to run the distance faster than they ever have before.

They’d trained differently with other groups, so when they joined TR, there was a huge leap of faith. Eventually, they bought in. They bought in when they began to see others do it off of the same training. They bought in when they began to see changes in their own fitness and preparation. And when they see that it just works, that it is possible to run the last 10K of a marathon faster than they once thought, they begin to believe. They believe first in the program, then in the training, then in themselves.

One thought on “Rock AND Roll

  1. I have to admit, I was skeptical of the training plan at first. Last season, I continued to challenge my coach. Now, I’m all in, and can’t wait to see the results in Chicago.

Leave a Reply

