What separates the talented from the successful is a lot of hard work.

Most Rogues view completing the marathon as the holy grail of running. It’s not until the pain goes away that we start envisioning driving that PR down until we have squeezed our abilities dry!

“What separates the talented individual from the successful one is a lot of hard work.” This quote is my only religion (that and Karma!). I have met a lot of talented runners in my time, and often have those talented runners who beat me back in high school say “if only I kept running, I would be…” Obviously, if this is said we know we have won.  There are many reasons we get down on ourselves, but we are measured on how we get back up! If I gave up chasing my goals for an injury, illness, new job, girlfriend, moving, no training partners, no time in the day, loss of sleep or a broken heart, I wouldn’t be where I am today.

I bet that less than 5% of the Rogue community know which member holds the fastest marathon time. I bet you are thinking that it’s someone on the elite team, or a coach who did it in the 70’s or 80’s.  If you are, you are wrong.  It’s one of our current coaches and, yes, he worked a full time job during the 4 years leading up to his PR time and, yes, he coached himself during this period. None of this screams talent, just the will to keep working towards a goal!

I’ve decided to write this blog for two reasons. First, you don’t have to be a full time, talented runner to achieve your goals or compete at the national level. You can work 40-50hrs a week and still achieve what you need, you just have to be a lot more disciplined and drink a lot more coffee (If you work more than 50hrs a week I suggest you question your job, not your running). Secondly, this week marks the transfer of the Fastest Rogue Marathoner title to a new, well deserving and hard working person.  You see, this weekend Scott MacPherson will be putting his Olympic Marathon Trials behind him when he toes the line at the Philly Marathon.  I have no doubt in my mind that he will smash Rogue’s current fastest marathon time.

mWho am I??? I’m your favorite Aussie! Scott “Aussie” Rantall from the neighboring state of Cedar Park (an arduous 30 minute journey to the downtown Rogue store).  This is my first blog and a lot of you probably don’t know me so let me fill you in on some details. As I’ve been told, I’m currently Rogues fastest marathoner with the 2:20:37 I ran in October 2010, finishing 4th at our Australian National Championships. I currently work full time at Dell and 10 weeks ago my wife and I welcomed our beautiful baby girl into the world. I’m not on Rogue’s elite team nor do I deserve to be (if you ever get the chance to watch these guys work out, you will get a small taste of the work ethic required to do this!).  In recent years my running has gone from one of my highest priorities to taking a back seat to life.  I had the opportunity in January to win the 3M half Marathon in 67:14, so at least I got one good result to hang my hat on this year!

The point I’m trying to make is that you don’t have to be a full time, talented runner to achieve your goals.  Everyone has different goals and prioritizes them differently, but I don’t know how people go through life without goals.  Currently, my athletic goal is to be able to run a sub 16min 5km any day of the week and to bench 150% of my body weight by the end of the year (I’m 7 pounds away).

Take the time to put your goal on paper and add these 4 steps: Attainable, Realistic, Specific and Measurable. Then, talk to your coach or someone on how/when this goal can be achieved.  This is called adding the stepping stones because chances are someone has done it before (unless you are Paul Terranova, the man is a beast!!!). I love helping Rogues and would love to chat with any of you! Feel free to email or call me at aussiescott@roguerunning.com/512-731-7299.

Finally, good luck Scotty Mac on knocking down the next stepping stone to your Olympic Dream…

-Aussie Scott

10 thoughts on “What separates the talented from the successful is a lot of hard work.

  1. Fantastic article! I, too, enjoyed reading it. And I love that quote: “What separates the talented individual from the successful one is a lot of hard work.”

  2. Pingback: Quote of the Day | withlovedeidrelee

  3. Thanks everyone, I enjoyed writing it and wanted to get it out there before Scotty Mac took my title away which he did with a 2:18:30, Congrats to Scott MacChampion

  4. Pingback: Unplugged | The Rundown

  5. Pingback: Coaching … I mean … Running Austin: | The Rundown

  6. Pingback: Meet Coach Robyn | The Rundown

Leave a Reply

