Ultimate Respect for the New Runner

Image

By Coach Jimmie Vaughan

Oftentimes when I first encounter new runners, there is an assumption the rest of the running population slapped on a pair of shoes and was instantly a successful runner.Image  I don’t believe this to be speculation as many runners who have been through my Into to Rogue course tell me they figured I have been running all my life.  Most of the time that is not true as many of us has had to suffer the growing pains that come with the sport/ lifestyle we have grown to love.  Of course, unless you are that Aussie Scott guy.  I honestly think he sprinted out of the womb, and as an Ankle Biter he chased dingoes across Never Never.  Who knew kangaroo steaks were a good form of protein?  Aussie must of downed a lot of it for recovery to remain that fast!  Don’t take my word for it, catch Aussie when he is not Flat Out like a Lizard Drinking and ask him to reminisce about all of his racing stories (he has a picture book you know).

 

There are three times when I am most at awe with the new runner.  This of course in the arena of the Intro to Rogue program, however, I am quite positive all coaches across all programs could agree. 

 

The first revolves around the initial day, and the runner shows up.  I remember what it was like to join a running group for the first time.  I felt as though all the faster guys were sizing me up ready to show me I had no business being in the same group as they were.  Actually I was a fair ways along before I had the courage to join a group.  So I can only imagine what must be running (see what I did there?) through a new runners mind when they walk through the door on the first day.  Because of this, every new runner I coach immediately starts gaining my respect regardless of skill level. 

 

The second time is when they complete their first workout.  Let’s face it, the new runner is stepping out of their comfort zone on many levels and asking their bodies to do things they’ve never done before or haven’t done in a long time.  They are doing it in front of a group, which again is something I never did right off the bat.  For this, I further respect them.  After every quality session, I send an email to my runners.  Personally, I think the emails are works of art but I’m sure there are runners who feel differently. 

 

My email that covers day one tells the runners that the most difficult part of the course is over.  Not only because they made it through day one, but because they had the courage to show up!  I tell them it only gets easier after that.  Some believe me, some have to let me prove it to them.

 

Finally, the new runner earns the last ounce of my respect when the final session has ended.   The now “not so new runner” has made the commitment, sacrificed and struggled, and came out a changed individual for the better.  Deep down I feel there are many individuals out there that want to be a runner, it’s only those few that are willing to take the initial step out of their comfort zone to become one.

 

What I hope new runners take away from all of this is that if they are contemplating joining a Rogue program, all they have to do is show up.  No matter the level, you start earning your Coaches respect when you walk through that door!

 

 

So, now I’m headed off to meet up with Aussie Scott at the Milk Bar.  We’re in search for the area’s best Roadie and Sanger.Image

 

Yeah Aussie, I went there.  5-0 in my favor Mate.

 

Image

 

Coach Jimmie Vaughan throws these crazy awesome events with free runs and free beer in Cedar Park. Click here to see the last one. Click here to attend the next one. He also coaches INTRO to ROGUE – our program designed for new runners. Come earn his respect! 

One thought on “Ultimate Respect for the New Runner

  1. Pingback: Meet Coach Robyn | The Rundown

Leave a Reply

