Rogues Around Town: Katie Visco

20110316_WC10553Hanging around Rogue, you may have noticed a girl in brightly colored running clothes, big felt earrings, and an even bigger smile. If you haven’t met her already, that’s Katie Visco. A peppy, outgoing, and extremely talented runner who in 2009 made it her goal to run across the United States. Nine months later, Katie became the youngest female to run across the US. Join the ladies of Rogue Running to welcome Katie to our community this Thursday, January 23rd!

 

Who is Katie Visco?

 

I’ve been called “a bubbly and offbeat running, biking, soup-making, people-loving, community-building exclamation mark with boundless energy to do new things, meet new people and make the world a better place.” HA!  Now, if I were to answer this question from my own perspective, I would say this confidently, succinctly and boldly – I am Love.

 

How did you get started running?

 

I fell in love with running in 7th grade. I was duped into the sport, thinking that I was signing up for a soccer training camp…Oops!  First day of practice we were sent out to “run a mile.”  What?!  What do you mean just run?  Apparently I had signed up for cross country summer “pre-season.” I had no concept of what pure and unadulterated running meant, but at the time, it was exactly what I needed.  Bam!  As a young girl, being able to quantify my progress, mile by mile (or block by block at that time), was incredibly empowering, and doing so with my friends was what made it FUN.  My passion for running hasn’t missed a beat since 1998.

 

Run across America? That’s crazy! What inspired you to do it?

 

As for how or when the idea to run across America was conceived, let’s just say the Universe plopped that idea into my head and heart ever since I can remember.  In other words, I really cannot tell you when or how that happened – it was a little voice in my heart that said, “You must, you must!  Adventure awaits.  Take the step!”  Thank you, Universe!  I wanted to use this run to awaken people to the call(s) of their heart…their innate nature to shine.

 

What fuels your fire?

 

Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure…We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same” (Marianne Williamson).

 

Just as this quote details, what fuels my fire in the light that we all shine; we are each mines rich in gems of inestimable value…that is our innate nature!  I absolutely light up when I see others lit up and pursuing their innate call, the call that originates in the Soul of the Universe.  I love life.  I am passionate about nourishing people from the inside out, and strive to do so, first and foremost, by being an authentic, good human being.  Also through my soup business (www.HotLoveSoup.com) and community soup parties (you’re invited!).  We need more community and true connection in this world, and I live and work to see that happen.  It could start with eye-contact and a smile…or a run!

 

You must’ve visited plenty of cool spots on your trip. What brought you to Austin, and how did you get involved with Rogue?

 

The spirit brought me to Austin…some inexplicable force that had been calling me ever since I read an article in Runner’s World back in high school that highlighted Austin as one of the “Top 10 Cities for Runners.”  I came from Boston, MA, and after running across America, I wanted a new chapter and place in my life, so I hopped on my bicycle to journey to Austin, TX – I arrived in this great city only planning to stay a month.  HECK, it’s been almost three years!  It quickly became my new home.  I joined the Rogue community after hearing about it through much-admired friends.  I had been missing being on a team of driven, committed, and slightly nuts individuals, as in my days on the cross country and track teams throughout my school years, and when I got to know Rogue, I was sold. I wanted to be on a real team again, working hard and diligently, with other crazies, towards a common goal of reaching a new edge.

 

What are your plans for this upcoming year?

 

I’ll be running across Australia starting Summer/Fall 2014 🙂 I need your help!  I will also be honing my Hot Love Soup business to make that transition.  Otherwise, I love ultra trail running, and anything running, actually.  Journey running is my heart…using your two feet to get you from point A to B….to C, to D! It’s truly awe-inspiring what happens along the way.

 

————

 

Join us at 6:30pm on Thursday January 23rd at Rogue downtown for a night of conversation, inspiration, and hearty homemade soup. Rogue is working in conjunction with Casa Marianella for this event. Attendees are requested to bring a soup bowl to donate after the event!

Leave a Reply

