Meet the Coach: Cindy Henges

What do you coach?

Running 🙂  Usually mixed level marathon groups but I also coach shorter distances as well.

My morning groups in the past have been referred to as The Dawn Patrol but haven’t really figured out a catchy name for the evening groups.  I’m accepting ideas.

What is your coaching philosophy?

1) Runners come first.  Their wants, goals & desires are what I am there for not what I think they should be doing.  They must develop their own set of goals not me.  I am merely there to help them get where they want to be.

2) Develop character & enhance the journey.  Marathon training is not easy. If it was everybody would be doing it. The 6 month journey to the start of the marathon is an opportunity to learn more about yourself & what you decide to do on race day.  The training process is where that character is developed.  Every mile & every workout is an opportunity to learn something about yourself & what is possible.

3)  Foster & develop a love for the sport.  I love running. It has been an ongoing love affair that began in junior high & has waxed, waned, changed & persisted for 20 years.  I strive to share that love with my runners on a daily basis.

4)  Relational & Approachable.  A coach & an athlete have a unique relationship & how that relationship develops is dictated not only by the coach but also by the athlete.  You get what you put into running & the same holds true for your coaching relationships. Asking questions, conversations, giving & receiving information, phone calls, emails etc….all solidify & grow that relationship. Communication is essential on both fronts.

What do you think is the most important thing about learning how to run/train?

Consistency.  A big part of this process is learning to listen to your body.

How long have you been coaching? Running?

I have been coaching for 9 years in varying capacities.

I started running when I was 12 yrs old in junior high after I was cut from the basketball & volleyball teams & failed miserably at the hurdles. My dad suggested long distance running might utilize my skills of coordination.

What other skills do you have? Interests?

Men. Wait a second…is this a matchmaking service or a running group?

I enjoy backpacking, cycling, swimming & pretty much any outdoor activity. .

Men.  I’m very interested in them.

I am back in school for my second bachelors degree in nursing – my desire is to help people & develop those skills.

How long have you been working with Rogue?

I’ve been coaching with Rogue since it started & was coaching when it was still Runtex University.

What would you tell a newcomer if they asked you about yourself as a coach?

Please don’t hesitate to ask questions.  The more you put into training the more you get out of it.

Are you competitive? Do you expect your athletes to be?

I unfortunately am competitive.  I try to deny it but it kinda creeps out.

I expect my athletes to work hard & do their best given their current situation.  Running should be fun. It is not all that there is to life so one must figure out where it fits into their life.  Family, work & the stresses of life affect what part of our life running plays into it.  I think running should enhance our lives and not cause unnecessary stress.  However, if you have unrealistic goals & expectations that you place upon yourself you will not succeed. Sometimes giving yourself a break from the competition is necessary to make running fresh & fun again.   I recognize that most of my runners have jobs,wives, husbands, girlfriends\boyfriends, children & a multitude of other stresses that will affect what happens when they come to a workout.  You will have bad days but what do you do with those bad days?  Do you throw in the towel and quit or do you use those hard moments to build character & strength. I’m not concerned with whether my athletes are competitive or not. I am more concerned with whether they are learning & growing from the process of training.

Why do you run?

I have found that the list of reasons I run continue to grow. I initially started running because I was looking for a place to fit in when I was in middle school.  I have run for escape. I have run for acceptance. I have run to explore. I have run so I can eat more.I have run to see how far I can push myself. I have run to not feel yucky.  I have run because I was mad. I have run because I was sad.  I have run because I want to. I have run because it is fun.  I have run to get over boyfriends.  I have run to handle stress better.  And I have run to beat people.

Cindy is currently in Colorado, training for next month’s Leadville 100 (yes, that 100 mile trail race at altitude, but will be back in time to coach  the Austin Half Marathon and Marathon Tuesday morning group  at Westridge Middle School in Westlake, and the Austin Marathon program on Wednesday mornings at Anderson High School.

Leave a comment